Posted by: jedwardswright | January 19, 2012

A Prayer for the Depressed

Dear God,

All I see is darkness, but I believe that You are the light of the world.

Please shine your light into my life.

It is hard to have faith when it feels like I am wading through concrete.

Please help my unbelief.

It seems like I am so alone and no one understands that I am constantly in the pouring rain.

Please shelter me in Your arms of love.

I want to be myself again—the person You created me to be.

Please restore my personal authenticity.

My muddled mind sends messages of hurt and anger and unworthiness.

Please help the doctors to find the right medication to counteract the chemical imbalance in my brain.

Every day it is so hard to resist the urge to curl up in bed and pull the covers over my head.

Please encourage me on my way.

I need you, Lord, more than I ever have.

Please draw me closer to You when I walk away.

Even praying for myself is almost beyond my capability right now.

Please bring others near who will pray for me in my weakness.

God, you have brought me this far in spite of myself.  Be my Shepherd as the days unfold.

When I wonder where you are, You are there. When I wonder how I can, you give me strength. When I wonder why this pain, You bring comfort and grace.

Help me to be assured that You are there, even when I cannot tell.

Thank you for Your love, and patience, and mercy.

Your Child
Responses

  1. my husband and I definitely enjoy your internet site and feel you should have way additional subscribers than you do! incredibly fantastic job and preserve operating!

  2. I like the helpful info you provide in your articles. I’ll bookmark your blog and check again here regularly. I am quite sure I’ll learn a lot of new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

  3. Thank you for this prayer. As I read it I felt as if the words were my own. It brought tears to my eyes. Tears that I have been unable to cry for so long. I plan to read this prayer every day. Thank you, thank you, thank you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

