Posted by: jedwardswright | August 20, 2011

99 Words about Depression

 Why write a post entirely of descriptive words about depression?

First, I want you to know that you are not alone in these feelings. There are millions of people who are depressed who relate to these words. It is not just you!

Secondly, this is an opportunity for those of you who are wondering if you or a loved one has depression, because these words may give you a better idea. This is not a scientific test. These are my words for how I have felt while suffering from depression, and if you relate to them, it might mean that you too are depressed. If you think that checking off those that apply would be useful to you, go for it.

What this is not meant to do is to make you feel worse, so if reading these words increases your feelings of depression, simply skip to the bottom for my final comments.

  1. abandoned
  2. achy
  3. afraid
  4. agitated
  5. agony
  6. alone
  7. anguish
  8. antisocial
  9. anxious
  10. breakdown
  11. brittle
  12. broken
  13. catatonic
  14. consumed
  15. crisis
  16. crushed
  17. crying
  18. defeated
  19. defensive
  20. dejected
  21. demoralized
  22. desolate
  23. despair
  24. desperate
  25. despondent
  26. devastated
  27. discontented
  28. disheartened
  29. dismal
  30. distractable
  31. distraught
  32. distressed
  33. doomed
  34. dreadful
  35. dreary
  36. edgy
  37. emotional
  38. empty
  39. excluded
  40. exhausted
  41. exposed
  42. fatalistic
  43. forlorn
  44. fragile
  45. freaking
  46. gloomy
  47. grouchy
  48. helpless
  49. hopeless
  50. hurt
  51. inadequate
  52. inconsolable
  53. injured
  54. insecure
  55. irrational
  56. irritable
  57. isolated
  58. lonely
  59. lousy
  60. low
  61. melancholy
  62. miserable
  63. moody
  64. morbid
  65. needy
  66. nervous
  67. nightmarish
  68. oppressed
  69. overwhelmed
  70. pain
  71. paranoid
  72. pessimistic
  73. reckless
  74. rejected
  75. resigned
  76. sadness
  77. self-conscious
  78. self-disgust
  79. shattered
  80. sobbing
  81. sorrowful
  82. suffering
  83. suicidal
  84. tearful
  85. touchy
  86. trapped
  87. uneasy
  88. unhappy
  89. unhinged
  90. unpredictable
  91. upset
  92. vulnerable
  93. wailing
  94. weak
  95. weepy
  96. withdrawn
  97. woeful
  98. wounded
  99. wretched

Because this is not a diagnostic test, I am not going to set specific numbers at which you should be concerned.

I am going to suggest that if you relate to many of these words, you should talk to your doctor about it ASAP. If you identify with the word suicidal, please call 911 or have a friend drive you to the ER for help. As well, crisis lines are listed on the right column of this blog.

Major depressive disorder (MDD) is a treatable condition, and most people respond positively to medication. If you have tried medication and given up, remember that new meds are being approved all the time, and one of these might be the one that could make all the difference.

Responses

  1. You put so much time into this, Jodi. Thank you. I could have used like this.

    • I appreciate the positive feedback, Kim! Thanks!

  2. I wanted to thank you for this post. I suffer from a branch of depression (Seasonal Affective Depression: S.A.D) And I’m working on a final project for my college classes on my depression. I needed a few words to for this project and this list helped tremendously with choosing the right ones to describe how I feel. I’m hoping that this project can reach out to people and show them that they’re not alone in their fight with their own mind, much like you did with this post. For that, I thank you. 🙂

    • Kelly, thank you for letting me know that this post was helpful to you! I hope that your project was well-received by your professor.

  3. Reblogged this on A Darker Shade of Blue and commented:

    This post seems to have struck a chord with a number of people, so I thought that I would put it out there again.

  4. […] I was originally told I had depression caused by Anxiety. I still have this, especially due to my Anxiety rising it’s ugly head a few months ago, and to say it sucks is a very light word to use.  See more words here, on darkershadeofblue’s blog. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

