Posted by: jedwardswright | May 16, 2010

Songs That Cheer Me Up

These songs cheer me up, or inspire me, or just…make me feel less depressed than I was before I listened to them! If you think you notice a strong theme of female empowerment here, you would be totally right .

Walking on Sunshine
Katrina & The Waves
Dang, this song is bubbly! I just can’t help feeling more positive when this tune is playing — no matter how I try! This is a serious pity party buster.

Beautiful
Christina Aguilera
My current favorite song of all time, this masterwork is part feminist anthem, part girl power celebration, and mostly a declaration of substance over superficiality. For those of us who suffered the pangs of feeling fat and ugly, plain and weird, or simply like the misfit of the century, this is an incredibly powerful piece of music. Throw in the fact that Xtina totally nails the vocals, and you can feel ten pounds lighter after listening to this gem!

Footloose
Kenny Loggins
The impact of this song defies both logic and gravity. It is an incredibly fun, energizing, good old-fashioned 80’s classic! You owe it to yourself to watch the music video all the way through, non-stop, at least once in your life!

Girls Just Want To Have Fun
Cyndi Lauper
Oh, come on! You know you love it – girl power and that catchy hook – all in Cyndi’s quirky fun-loving  vocals – what’s not to love!

Sisters Are Doin’ It For Themselves
The Eurythimics
Cyndi Lauper may celebrate girls, but Annie Lennox celebrates women in this rockin’ ode to “the conscious liberation of the female state.” I always thought that this should have been Hilary’s campaign song — except it was by a British band , so it didn’t stand a chance. Pity!

The Way I Am
Ingrid Michelson
There is something about this simple little ditty that perks me up.  Everyday romance with a dash of humor — this song suggests that even the most ordinary of us can have an extraordinary love.

Hero
Mariah Carey
So she always overdoes it…the woman has serious pipes, and this is an uplifting piece that makes me feel like I’m not such a schmuck. Heck, maybe I will amount to something, or be my own hero, or at least cross off a few on my bucket list! We’ve all gotta dream, and Mariah makes it all sound possible. (BTW, I wouldn’t be surprised if someone someday claims that Micheal Jackson actually wrote this song. Doesn’t it seem like it could have had the gloved one’s sparkly fingers all over it?)

Man! I Feel Like A Woman!
Shania Twain
Shania appeals to the inner desire in every woman to just chuck all the tedious responsibilities and go out on the town with your best GFs. Doesn’t this tune make you feel more feminine, sexy, and fun?

Respect
Aretha Franklin
One of the greatest songs from one of the greatest singers of all time. It makes a person feel taller and stronger and prouder, especially if you happen to be female!

The Tulsa Shuffle
The Tractors
You may not have heard of these guys, but this is such a good time,  it would have been a shame to leave it off.

Okay, so this list is really old school, I admit it.
Please feel free to suggest some upbeat updates, or any other song that makes you smile!

Leave a Reply

Categories

